Skip navigation

 

There is a girl in New York City,
Who calls herself the human trampoline,
And sometimes when I’m falling flying
Or tumbling in turmoil I say
Whoa so this is what she means,
She means we’re bouncing into Graceland,
And I see losing love
Is like a window in your heart,
Everybody sees you’re blown apart,
Everybody feels the wind blow,

In Graceland Graceland,
I’m going to Graceland,
For reasons I cannot explain
There’s some part of me wants to see
Graceland,
And I may be obliged to defend
Every love every ending
Or maybe there’s no obligations now,
Maybe I’ve a reason to believe
We all will be received
In Graceland 

 Paul Simon “Graceland”

 

It seems that as I get lost in the solitude of long distance hikes music lyrics find their way into my head.

 

Some are incongruous and interminably annoying, as when the lyrics of “Signs” from the Five Man Electrical Band got in my head when dancing ecstatic kilometers away across a moonlit Moonlight Ridge within one of the last terrestrial wildernesses while the great Southern Ocean glistened in surround.

 

Others have come at less ethereal times and given me a feeling of redemption and transcendence far beyond that which the location could on its own impart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

